top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

In The Beginning...

When did I start? I believe that lying half asleep as a child I would hear the radio quietly in the background of the house; only half hearing the music, my mind would fill in the rest.

I started playing guitar around the age of 14. My older brother was in a heavy mental band in the 70s and I would go along, a few of the band members taught me a song on a 12 string acoustic: High Flyers by UFO. I ended up performing it live. I have never actually had a music lesson.

I found playing guitar quietly on my own gave me a special and safe place to be where I could make sense of the world. in the early 80s I had a few musical friends and we gigged around Essex. I wrote all the songs and was the main vocalist. We were a tight indie rock band, electric guitar, drums and bass. A Little like The Police.

As I got older I gave up music for many years, and apart from one or two attempts with duets and collaborations, I stopped playing worked on my career, got my house in order.

In 2007 I was in a good place. I developed a home recording studio and started writing and playing again, taught myself to play more instruments and mixing. I find that rather than trying to sound like someone else, my bias is to try and be true to myself. I enjoy experimenting with music and being creative and trying different genres. I spent a few years arranging and writing for the band Grave Closure, but Dark Indie music was not truly what I enjoyed. I am now solo again and aiming to develop my love of indie folk, and ambient sounds.

bottom of page